Book Review | Lullabies by Lang Leav

Author: Lang Leav
Source: Borrowed
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Release Date: September 16th 2014
Buy Links: Book Depository (free shipping)

P.S. I highly recommend buying the paperback version because I swear, you need to place it on your bedside ;D

Synopsis

A sequel to the hugely popular, best-selling Love & Misadventure, Lullabies continues to explore the intricacies of love and loss.

Set to a musical theme, love’s poetic journey in this new, original collection begins with a Duet and travels through Interlude and Finale with an Encore popular piece from the best-selling Love & Misadventure. Lang Leav’s evocative poetry speaks to the soul of anyone who is on this journey.

Leav has an unnerving ability to see inside the hearts and minds of her readers. Her talent for translating complex emotions with astonishing simplicity has won her a cult following of devoted fans from all over the world.

Lang Leav is a poet and internationally exhibiting artist.
(Source: Goodreads)

Lullabies by Lang Leav Book Cover

Review

“Where were you?” She asked. “I have been searching all my life.”
“Stop looking for me,” Love replied, “and I will find you.”

A story that speaks from every girl (or guy’s) heart and innermost pain.

THIS BOOK. OMG ALL THE FEELS, GUYS! This book has totally own a place in my heart!

I have never tried reading poetry-verse-like sort of book in my entire life . . . well, not at least one that’s been written by a 21st century poet. It’s not because I don’t appreciate poetry but it’s because of a traumatic experience that I had with our English Lit teacher last year wherein we have to decode what’s the message of a long poem/narrative-poem thingy by I don’t know who.

“There is a tide that rolls away/ I want to make it stay.
A borrowed book sits on my shelf/ I want it for myself.
There are two old hands/ that move this clock/I want to make them stop.
There is a love you sold to me/I keep it under lock— and yet you hold the key.”

BUT THIS BOOK. THIS MAGNIFICENT MASTERPIECE tugged at my heartstrings and left me staring at the ceiling for hours, giggling, fangirling, squealing for no reason . . . or maybe there is. I just don’t know what.

What I absolutely loved about this book is that how it awfully gets under my skin and eventually pierced my heart then ultimately punctured all the vulnerable parts of my soul. Lullabies is a poetry-book written with raw emotions, simple but meaningful words that hits you straight to the core of your heart.

“It was a question I had worn on my lips for days – like a loose thread on my favourite sweater I couldn’t resist pulling – despite knowing it could all unravel around me.

“Do you love me?” I ask.

In your hesitation I found my answer.”

A beautiful book about love, loss, desire and yearning. Yes, it isn’t just about love.

It’s honestly creepy sometimes, though, how Leav’s words left me wondering how did she know, how she made the book awfully reminds me of someone and at the same of time, myself. Her words speak from the heart, so honest and breathtaking. But of course, you don’t have to be in love or heartbroken or even experience any of those—because once you read this captivating book (seriously, read it if you haven’t already, guys) you’ll be thrown into a roller coaster ride of emotions.

“She lends her pen,
to thoughts of him,
that flow from it,
in her solitary.

For she is his poet,
And he is her poetry.”

Rating: 5/5

Note: All quotes were taken from her book, Lullabies.

Leave a comment